40 million used vehicles are sold every year in America. However, not all second-hand cars and trucks are made equal! Some unlucky people hand over their hard-earned money for a set of wheels that turns into nothing but trouble.
Thankfully, New Jersey has a so-called Lemon Law that protects buyers from this unfortunate eventuality. Want to find out all about it? Keep reading for comprehensive answers to a few common New Jersey Lemon Law questions.
What Is the Lemon Law?
New Jersey’s Lemon Law stipulates that the burden of responsibility for used vehicle defects falls on the dealer’s shoulders. In other words, if they sell you a car that’s inundated with issues, then they’re liable for the repairs, not you.
The law requires dealers to provide a warranty to their customers, the length of which is determined by the number of miles on the clock (more on this coming up). When a problem arises within the warranty period, the vendor has to handle and pay for the repairs. Furthermore, if they can’t make the repairs, then they’re obliged to either replace the vehicle or provide a full refund for it (minus sales tax and fees).
How Long Is the Warranty Period?
The shorter answer’s that it depends. As we noted above, the extent of your warranty period hinges on the odometer reading. You’re entitled to a:
- 90-day/3,000-mile warranty when there are less than 24,000 miles on the clock, a
- 60-day/2,000-mile warranty when it’s driven between 24,000 and 60,000 miles, and a
- 30-day/1,000-mile warranty when the odometer shows between 60,000 and 100,000 miles.
Top tip: Be careful when negotiating the price for a car with more than 60,000 miles on the clock. In these cases, you risk waiving your right to the warranty period if the dealer gives you a discount and puts the waiver in writing.
Are All Used Vehicles Covered?
No! It’s crucial to note that the NJ Lemon Law only applies to vehicles that:
- Were bought from licensed dealerships,
- Are less than or equal to 7 years old,
- Cost a minimum of $3,000, and
- Had less than 100,000 miles on the clock on the date of purchase.
If your second-hand vehicle doesn’t fulfill each of these Lemon Law qualifications, then you aren’t entitled to its protections. This is also true for salvage vehicles, cars purchased from private sellers, leased vehicles, and those still under the manufacturer’s warranty, among others. Consider visiting the lemon law office to clarify whether or not your used car’s classified as a lemon.
Now You Know More About the New Jersey Lemon Law
Second-hand vehicles are all popular in the US for their attractive prices and wide selection. But there’s always a danger to buying pre-used goods, right? In worst-case scenarios, you can purchase a vehicle that’s full of underlying mechanical issues.
That’s where the New Jersey Lemon Law comes into play. With any luck, the information in this article has told you everything you wanted to know about it. To read more blog posts like this one, browse the ‘Travel’ section of the website now!