In Illinois, there are a few requirements you must meet in order to legally own a gun. This guide will walk you through the process of becoming a licensed gun owner in the state. Keep in mind that while owning and carrying a weapon is your constitutional right.
Therefore, it’s important to comply with all laws and regulations surrounding firearm ownership. Continue reading to learn more about CCW requirements for carrying a gun in Illinois.
Concealed Carry Weapon Requirements
A gun owner in Illinois is subject to the same regulations for carrying a concealed weapon as one with a permit in other states within the United States. Individuals meet this rule by owning a Firearm Owners Identification Card(FOID).
The FOID must be issued by the Department of State Police under 25-6 License Control Act. Applicants are required to have in their possession a physical FOID card or an existing Illinois driver’s license/state identification card.
Also, the address needs the same address as the gun owner. The person must be at least 21 years old to apply for a FOID.
A review of criminal history occurs via the Law Enforcement Agencies Data System (LEADS). It contains all Federal Bureau of Investigation rap sheets.
If the applicant does not have a criminal record under this system, applicants get fingerprinted by local law enforcement agencies. Doing so helps to determine if there are convictions or arrest warrants against the person. A firearm’s eligibility license is then issued after all checks are complete.
Concealed Carry Permit Testing
Applicants must possess knowledge about firearm and ammunition safety as demonstrated in an application. Each applicant must complete a 16-hour class taught by an instructor approved by the Department of State Police.
The course covers both state and federal gun laws, safe storage and child access, knowledge about bullets and firearms. It also goes over the effects of using deadly force in self-defense and specific firearm action types.
Furthermore, the FOID card is valid for five years. Applicants must renew their license every five years to continue possessing firearms and ammunition. A late fee of $10 applies if the license renews after the expiration date.
The cost for a new or renewed FOID includes a nonrefundable $5 charge. The FOID can be revoked and firearms ownership rights declared null and void if a person whose license was once revoked doesn’t request a review within 30 days of notice. A $20 fee applies for this written request.
Per CCW requirements, firearm owners in Illinois are required to report lost or stolen firearms to local law enforcement within 72 hours of the discovery.
Are you looking for a facility where you can take classes for your concealed carry permit? If so, consider getting your concealed carry at Concealed Coalition.
Those who knowingly transfer a gun or ammunition to someone not in possession of a FOID card are charged with a Class 4 felony. This offense is punishable by one to three years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.
Possession of a firearm during a crime is a Class 2 felony. It could lead to three to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
Under state law, it is unlawful for anyone who was once convicted of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery to have a firearm for five years from conviction or release from supervision.
Federal law prohibits possession of firearms for anyone convicted of a misdemeanor of domestic violence.
Carrying a concealed weapon without proper licensing is considered a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and up to one year in jail. Carrying a firearm into any building where it has been prohibited by the owner holds stricter penalties.
Individuals who bring a gun or ammunition into restricted areas may be charged with a Class 3 felony. It’s punishable by two to five years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines. The penalty increases to a Class 2 felony for anyone who brings firearms within 1,000 feet of school grounds.
Concealed Carry Safety Tips
Always keep the weapon in a holster that covers the trigger area. You don’t want to put your finger on the trigger until you’re ready to fire. A holster will prevent this from happening unintentionally.
Make sure that the safety is engaged when it’s in the holster. Having this extra security measure ensures that nothing bad happens if you snag or bump the weapon.
Now that you’ve got your carry piece, it’s important to know what type of holster is right for you. Everyone has different needs when it comes to self-defense, so make sure that you try out different holsters. Some people prefer an ankle holster, some like it for their back, and others like to keep it in their purse.
Whatever you choose, just make sure that you get one that’s sturdy and can cover the trigger area. It should also be easy to draw from so that you can access your weapon quickly when necessary.
CCW Requirements: Get Your Concealed Carry License
If you’re in the market for a gun, it’s important to be aware of the CCW requirements in Illinois. Failing to adhere to these regulations can result in penalties, so make sure you know what is expected of you before purchasing a firearm.
For more helpful topics, visit our website. We have more content designed to help you stay safe and informed when handling firearms. Thanks for reading and we hope you enjoy it!